About Elections

Elections for Federal Offices

There are 542 federal offices: President, Vice President, 100 U.S. Senators (two from each state), 435 U.S. Representatives, four delegates to the House of Representatives from U.S. territories and the District of Columbia, and one Resident Commissioner from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

U.S. Senators serve six-year terms, with one-third of them up for election every even-numbered year. U.S. Representatives serve two-year terms, with the entire House up for election every even-numbered year. In order to vote for these offices you must be registered to vote.

To find out who your U.S. Senator or Representative is and how to contact them:

State and Local Elections and Officials

State Officials

In most states, state offices include: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, and Attorney General, State Supreme Court Justices, Comptroller, Treasurer, State Senators, and State Legislators. These officials are elected by the voters of the districts they serve.

Many states hold referenda to submit legislative matters to the voters for approval or rejection. Other matters that may appear on state ballots include bond initiatives, amendments to the state constitution and recalls of state elected officials.

Local Elections and Officials

Local officials make up the vast majority of elected officials in the U.S. These officials include the mayor, town or city council members, county commissioner, etc. The number and titles of elected local officials vary.