Witnessing Requirements

No State has witness requirements for the Federal Post Card Application (FPCA); however, the territory of Puerto Rico does.  A witness may be required if a voter receives assistance when completing the form.

The following States have witnessing requirements for the Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot (FWAB):

  • Alabama (2 witnesses)
  • Alaska (1 witness)
  • Virginia (1 witness)
  • Wisconsin (1 witness)

Any required witness must sign in the witness section of the Voter's Declaration/Affirmation. To learn more, please refer to the State and territory information in the Voting Assistance Guide.