May 7 - ALEXANDRIA, Va. - The State of Illinois will conduct a special primary election on Tuesday, July 7, 2015, for the 18th Congressional District in order to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Aaron Schock. This district consists of Adams, Brown, Cass, Hancock, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Menard, Morgan, Pike, Schuyler, Scott and Woodford Counties and parts of McLean, Peoria, Sangamon, Stark and Tazewell Counties.

The special general election will be on Thursday, September 10, 2015.

If you are an Illinois resident from the 18th Congressional District and need to vote absentee, you may request an absentee ballot using the Federal Post Card Application (FPCA) found at Complete, sign and send the FPCA to your local election official who will send you a ballot once your request is received. Your ballot request needs to be received by June 29.   

Detailed instructions and contact information is available at

If you do not receive your requested State ballot 30 days before the election, you may use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot to vote. The form and candidate names are available at under "Get My Ballot."


If you experience any issues or have questions, FVAP's call center is available at 1-800-438-VOTE (8683), DSN 425-1584 or at Toll-free phone numbers from 67 countries are listed at Find us on Facebook at /DoDFVAP and follow @FVAP on Twitter.

PDF version of FVAP Voter Alert #4