March 26 - ALEXANDRIA, Va. - The State of Mississippi will conduct a special general election on Tuesday, May 12, 2015, for the 1st Congressional District in order to fill the vacancy created by the passing of Representative Alan Nunnelee. This district includes portions of DeSoto, Tate, Marshall, Lafayette, Calhoun, Benton, Tippah, Alcorn, Tishomingo, Prentiss, Lee, Union, Itawamba, Pontotoc, Chickasaw, Monroe, Clay, Lowndes, Webster, Choctaw, Oktibbeha and Winston counties.

If you are a Mississippi resident from the 1st Congressional District and need to vote absentee, you may register and request an absentee ballot using the FPCA found at Complete, sign and send the FPCA to your local election official who will send you a ballot once your request is received. If you are not currently registered, your form needs to be received May 2, 2015, which will also allow you to participate in the potential runoff election set for Tuesday, June 2, 2015.   

Detailed instructions and contact information is available at

If you do not receive your requested State ballot 30 days before the election, you may use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot to vote. The form and candidate names are available at under "Get My Ballot."


If you experience any issues or have questions, FVAP's call center is available at 1-800-438-VOTE (8683), DSN 425-1584 or at Toll-free phone numbers from 67 countries are listed at Find us on Facebook at /DoDFVAP and follow @FVAP on Twitter.

PDF version of FVAP Voter Alert #3